Frameworks explained

A set of minimum requirements

Any party delivering an IT user or IT professional apprenticeship must comply with the e-skills UK frameworks, which defines the statutory requirements for apprenticeship programmes in the IT sector. The frameworks outline the minimum requirements needed to complete the apprenticeship at each level and for each occupation.

e-skills UK is the official issuing authority for the IT sector apprenticeship frameworks, developed in conjunction with a wide group of employers.

e-skills UK has two frameworks which are flexible and wide-ranging, these are:

IT application specialist framework

Suitable for those whose main job role is to use IT applications in support of colleagues or customers in any sector or industry. 

IT, software, web and telecoms professional framework

Designed for new entrants for a professional role in the sector, this can also provide progression and re-skilling routes for existing IT Professionals.

These frameworks are delivered at three different levels:

  • Level 2 (equivalent to GCSE)
  • Level 3 (equivalent to A-level)
  • Level 4 (equivalent to Higher Education, can include progression to degree level)

Pathways for specific job roles

Within a framework, pathways can be developed to suit a specific job role. A pathway is the defined combination of competence, vendor and technical certificates which meet the skill requirements corresponding to the job role.


Click here for downloadable copies of the Apprenticeship frameworks.


Back to top