IT apprenticeship frameworks for England

To make sure the apprentices you train develop the skills they need to advance in their careers, e-skills UK issues the IT apprenticeship frameworks. These outline the minimum requirements needed to complete the apprenticeship, and cover a range of job roles and levels.

What frameworks include

All of the frameworks below include the qualifications and skills apprentices must achieve in three areas: competence element; knowledge element; and transferable skills.

The only qualifications that are acceptable as evidence of transferable skills - and to request a certificate - are those identified in the appropriate SASE framework documents:

Employment rights and responsibilities

In addition, all apprentices must demonstrate their understanding of employment rights and responsibilities (ERR). This can be achieved through a unit with the appropriate awarding organisation:

  • Edexcel BTEC Level 2 Award in Workskills for Effective Learning and Employment (QCF)
  • City & Guilds L2 Award in Employee Rights and Responsibilities
  • Agored Cymru Level 2 Award in Employment Rights and Responsibilities (QCF)

Or by your apprentice completing, and you assessing, this workbook:

IT, software, web & telecoms professionals frameworks

These frameworks are flexible enough to accommodate almost any IT job role, including software or web development, technical support and database analysis:

Information security frameworks

These are suitable for roles in information or cyber security, such as network security, information assurance, governance, digital forensics and security analysis.

IT application specialist framework

These enable apprentices to become IT “super users” and are designed to help people who are new to roles in which they use IT intensively.

 Any questions, please contact

Back to top

Looking for frameworks for other nations?

All of the frameworks listed here are for England only. For other nations, visit the Scotland or Wales pages.

New qualifications added

In February 2014, new qualifications were added to Apprenticeship for IT, Software, Web and Telecoms Professionals framework - Level 2 and 3:

  • OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Certificate in IT (600/4228/X)
  • OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT (600/4623/5)
  • OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Subsidiary Diploma in IT (600/4237/0)
  • OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Diploma in IT (600/4231/X)
  • OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Diploma in IT (600/4234/5)