Becoming an IT Apprenticeships supplier

team training with chart

Interested in offering IT apprenticeships?

1. Download and read the Apprenticeship frameworks

e-skills UK is the official issuing authority for the IT sector apprenticeship frameworks, developed in conjunction with a wide group of employers. e-skills UK offers the following frameworks, flexible and wide-ranging:

  • IT application specialist framework levels 2 & 3 - Suitable for those whose main job role is to use IT applications in support of colleagues or customers in any sector or industry.
  • IT, software, web and telecoms professional framework Levels 2 & 3 - Designed for new entrants for a professional role in the sector, this can also provide progression and re-skilling routes for existing IT Professionals.
  • Higher Apprenticeship for IT, Software, Web & Telecoms Professionals - Level 4 (England) - This framework provides the skills, knowledge and competence required to become an IT, Software, Web & Telecoms Professional in a wide range of job roles such as:  IT Technical Support; Software Developer; Web Developer; Database Administrator; Telecoms Engineer; and Network Planner.
  • NEW! Apprenticeship in Information Security Level 3 & 4 (England) - These two new frameworks are now available and will be funded from January 2014. These Apprenticeship frameworks provide the skills and knowledge to becoming a professional in the field of Information Security (which includes Cyber Security), in areas such as: Junior ProMon/Network (Security) Engineer; Junior IA & Cyber Research Scientist/Engineer (may include, for example, Vulnerability Testing); Junior Security Engineer (e.g. s/w development); Junior Network Security Officer; and Junior Governance Officer (IA Consultant).

For all the documentation, go to Frameworks.

2. Become an approved supplier to receive funding

Funding is provided by government to approved Apprenticeship suppliers - ie training providers, colleges or large employers - in exchange for all apprentices receiving the training and qualifications required to complete the Apprenticeship Framework.

Each of the 4 UK nations – England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland – has its own skills and development agencies which foster apprenticeships. To find out how you can get apprenticeship funding in your area, visit the website that best suits your location:

3. Register as a centre

You will need to register as a centre with one of the Awarding Bodies offering the qualifications that suit apprenticeships in your field.

There is no need to register with e-skills UK to deliver the Apprenticeships, unless you are located in Scotland. Register with e-skills UK if you’re a Scottish training provider - contact us via


As an Apprenticeship provider, you will be responsible for claiming certificates for your apprentices once they have completed all the requirements laid out in the frameworks. Click here for more information on the process for claiming certificates.

Need more information?

Get in touch if you need to find out more - e-mail

Back to top

NEW! Apprenticeships in Information Security

There are now two new frameworks available - from Nov 2013 - for Advanced and Higher Apprenticeships in Information Security (England). Click here for more details.

SASE Transferable skills

Please see the SASE Transferable Skills Guidance document PDF 236KB

The only qualifications that are acceptable as evidence for Transferable Skills and claims for apprenticeship completion certificates, are those identified in the appropriate SASE framework documents.   

Please see the Guidance on Forms of Acceptable Evidence PDF 2.5MB

See link below for more info on the certificate request process.